None For Gretchen Weiners

Stuff I like that you might also enjoy

Christmas, In A Nutshell.

I’ve been meaning to write this down for a while, but I’ve been so distracted enjoying all these Christmas festivities that I forgot to put them on the blog. Super inconsiderate of me, I apologize. Since we’re down to the wire and Santa is already en route, I’ll make this quick. It’s like Christmas for Dummies, or just a quick way to enhance your holiday, if you’re offended by me inadvertently calling you a dummy.

NFGW Christmas Quick Picks (to make your holiday season extra magical):

The Smell of Christmas: Yankee Candle “Home for Christmas”

1000947_BH609032696269_A_400

This scent is quite literally the scent of the holiday season. It encapsulates everything good about Christmas while delicately gracing your olfactory bulbs with beautiful yuletide childhood memories. One whiff and it’s like you’re transported back in time to Christmas Eve circa 19-whatever-year-you-were-a-kid, wearing footie pajamas sipping cocoa by a fireplace. It’s just that good. I’ve only been able to find this particular candle at Target, which is fine because I’m pretty sure there’s a Target within a 10-mile radius of literally everywhere in America (apologies to my international readers).

The Taste of Christmas: Winter Dream Tea Latte.

1183_20_tea_bags_l

I already wrote about it. It’s good enough to be reiterated. If you didn’t catch it the first time, it’s here.

The Sound of Christmas: (There are a lot)

So I mean, like, obviously I’m gonna talk about Bieber for a second. That’s a given. But even if you don’t like Biebs (I don’t know why you read this blog) you might like the Christmas album. If you don’t then maybe just listen again and if even after all that you STILL don’t like it, then I have some other options. You’re welcome.

41zfaDRs8AL._SL500_AA300_

Justin Bieber – Under the Mistletoe (Deluxe Edition).

Personal favorites: Mistletoe, The Christmas Song (Feat. Usher), Christmas Love, All I Want for Christmas Is You (Feat. Mariah Carey).

Alright now here is a sampling of some of my favorite Christmas songs, across a few genres. Like a sampler platter for holiday music.

Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree – Brenda Lee

The Christmas Song – The Raveonettes

Christmas Wrapping – The Waitresses

Blue Christmas – Bright Eyes

Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays – NSYNC

The Little Drummer Boy – Johnny Cash

White Christmas – Katy Perry

Please Come Home for Christmas – Eagles

Best Christmas Movie: National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation

imgres

This movie is everything that’s right with the world. You’ve probably seen it, but if you haven’t, sprint to the nearest DVD vending establishment or Netflix it here or iTunes it here.

Runner up: Elf. “This place reminds me of Santa’s workshop except it smells like mushrooms and everyone looks like they want to hurt me.”

Christmas Recipe: Alsatian “Petits Gateâux de Noël”

star christmas cookies

Sounds bougie (because it is), tastes delicious. Get pretentious (it’s a French recipe, like the Evian/Chanel/Dom Perignon of cookies) and take your cookie baking to the next level; you’ll score major points with friends and family. I bake these every year and since it’s difficult to find the recipe in English and I’m just so nice and it’s the season of giving and stuff, I’ll share my secret recipe with you. (Heads up, you’ll have to chill the dough overnight, so start the process now and bake tomorrow!)

Ingredients:

4.25 c flour

2 c sugar

2 c butter

3 eggs

1 tbsp cinnamon

lemon zest

Instructions:

1) Mix flour, butter, cinnamon sugar and lemon zest

2) Mix in eggs last, knead with hands, roll into a ball

3) Chill dough overnight

4) Preheat oven to 350; Roll dough out about 1/4 inch, cut into stars (or other festive shapes)

5) Place cookies on greased baking sheet and bake for 15 mins

To get extra fancy, serve in a martini glass with vanilla gelato, cinnamon-caramel drizzle and raspberries.

Christmas Style: Ugly Sweaters, duh

Christmas sweater

If it doesn’t look like this then you’re doing it wrong.

And lastly, no Christmas would be complete without an ugly sweater. Really, the more heinous, the more happiness, so bring on the tacky patches and load up on puff paint. Bonus points if it lights up. I won’t give away all my secrets, but I guarantee you can find one in a thrift shop. Consider washing before wearing. I also guarantee you’ll feel at least 10x more festive upon donning such a vestment.

Hopefully this was a good little cheat sheet and an injection of Christmas cheer into your final day of festivities.

Merry Christmas everyone, and don’t forget to go elf yourself. I mean that in the best way possible.

One comment on “Christmas, In A Nutshell.

  1. Pingback: Chestnuts (Drank) | None For Gretchen Weiners

Leave a Reply

