None For Gretchen Weiners

Stuff I like that you might also enjoy

Running Doesn’t Totally Suck, Part 2: The Sequel. *Nike Women’s Half Marathon Edition*

As many of you know (“you” being readers, followers, friends, family, fans, and internet stalkers), running is not my forte. Nor are athletics. Nor any other form of physical activity… including but not limited to: general motor skills, walking without falling, walking without running into things, driving, throwing things accurately, jumping, fitness, hand-eye coordination and very much especially team sports.

Workout-Olsen-Twin

this is me trying to work out

This, among many other factors, is what led many spectators and everyone close to me to believe I was a crazy person when I signed up for the Nike Women’s Half Marathon in San Francisco. They were correct, I am actually crazy, but I did it and I finished so WUT UP.Screen Shot 2014-10-28 at 10.52.38 AM

The sneaky, brilliant people at Nike did a little market research on female psychology. They thought, WHAT on earth would get nearly 30,000 women to RUN just over 13 miles? Well, girls really like Tiffany’s. Get a bunch of Tiffany necklaces, dress up some good looking firemen in tuxedos, put them at the end of the course with some silver platters topped with dozens of little blue Tiffany boxes and then SET THE FEMALES LOOSE. GO GET EM GIRLS.

tumblr_mus4rweTVL1segcldo1_500

Then everyone runs 13 miles. It’s that simple.

 

I learned a few things during the training and completion of my first half marathon. Here they are.

1) Anyone who runs more than 13.1 miles is a clinical psychopath and/or cyborg. Honestly, who are you. You are not real to me.

2) Orange slices are delicious gifts from the heavens and incomparable to all earthly foods. They will rejuvenate the soul. How did I go 24 years without knowing the power of these precious delicacies?! I ate three of them and made the sign of the cross.

3) Running in cold air = less chance of looking like a drowning, purple-faced, naked mole rat.

4) Running a mile in under 15 minutes isn’t impressive to anyone, and some people actually run 6 minute miles. This is a thing. Those people will also be LESS exhausted than you. Because their lungs are capable of far greater things than yours.

exhausted-workout

5) The same people who make those funky protein bars at the grocery store make something called “Shot Blocks,” which I think is made from a combination of melted fruit snacks and cocaine.

6) If you start in the last time corral, it will take you an hour to cross the Start Line. This means, when you are chugging through mile 2, someone will be winning the race. Because apparently this isn’t for fun, it’s a competition.

1815

7) Everything I like/want to buy sells out. Very quickly. I learned this the hard way. Apparently I have the same taste as EVERY OTHER PERSON WHO IS A SIZE EXTRA SMALL.

8) Tiffany necklaces look better when you earn them.

9) Nike is the coolest brand ever.

B0jLWP8IcAE2Gqk

Here are some of my tips now that I am a super professional runner/athlete; i.e., Stuff I Like:

*Because I discovered during this journey to 13.1 that I am in fact an athletic expert, I promise to continue to deliver my exceptional expertise in all things fitness.

MY RACE DAY OUTFIT

I love my race day outfit for a lot of reasons. 1) it got a lot of compliments 2) it got a lot of instagram likes 3) my bff Laura made the prettiest headband ever 4) it was comfortable, chafe-free and perfect for all 13.1 miles.

Screen Shot 2014-10-27 at 4.38.20 PM

So like, I broke one of my toes trying to be a super cool surfer like my friends when I was working at our surf contest in San Clemente. It obviously didn’t work out because… refer back to the first paragraph. Breaking a toe is super not chill if you’re training for a half marathon because even though they say half marathons are 90% mental i’m pretty sure they’re actually 90% feet.

I had been training in the Nike Pegasus 31, and they were super comfy, but after the toe-debacle I needed a little more impact protection, hence my most recent shoe purchase/obsession…

nike-wmns-lunarglide-6-hyper-grape-hyper-turquoise-01-570x400

Nike Lunarglide 6: They are awesome and they are cute and they took me 13.1 + miles without hurting my feet or giving me blisters. That in and of itself is a miracle. I am bad at explaining sport things so you can read more about the actual technology here.

IMG_6335

Sparkle Headband: Knot Just A Stitch customized this beautiful Tiffany-inspired elastic headband that kept my disgusting sweaty hair out of my face and off of my neck. Cute headbands aren’t just for babies, although I may have a baby-sized head.

Screen Shot 2014-10-29 at 8.28.00 AM

Nike Expandable Waistpack: I accidentally upgraded my iPhone 5 to the iPad Nano aka the iPhone 6 right before the race, creating even more problems for me as it doesn’t fit into any arm band. Instead of trying to hold my phone – which I would undoubtedly drop multiple times – for the duration of the race, I opted for a fanny pack because I have absolutely no shame. Unlike a traditional fanny pack, this thing was a small bit of stretchy mesh that magically morphed into something large enough for my annoying phablet, while completely sticking to my body with out bouncing, rubbing or chafing. MAGIC.

Screen Shot 2014-10-27 at 4.53.52 PMScreen Shot 2014-10-27 at 4.53.05 PM

Dri-FIT Compression Socks: I have an unreasonable and inexplicable affinity for my new socks. They were limited edition for the race (and sold out; refer back to learning #7), but you can get similar ones here. They’re cushy and soft and magical.  I couldn’t find better pictures (once they sold out, they disappeared from the internet) but they have a little “13.1” on the back and I’m in love.

 

THINGS I ATE

I really love eating, and turns out, half marathon training is concurrent with half marathon EATING. YES. But apparently you’re supposed to eat specific foods or something. I essentially neglected all of that but I did add a few things in…

Pre-Race: During training, I realized that people who are getting swole must have access to hoards of cash because the process is very expensive.

tumblr_mjtsp5eZhJ1rx3rz5o1_250

My boyfriend took me to the Getting Swole Store to get this powder stuff for my water that apparently would make my muscles not hurt so much. It costs forty dollars and is literally on bodybuilding.com if that gives you any insight.

iDXjFly5N5kpy

I don’t like Gatorade… and this stuff tastes like pineapple Gatorade. But all the normal, power-drink-drinkin’ people in my life enjoyed it. At first I could barely swallow it, but post-race I ended up downing it as if it were the last drink on earth. Almost as if my muscles were telling my taste buds ‘SHUT UP AND TAKE IT,’ and ‘MOAAAARRRRR.’

looks hardcore right

looks hardcore right

Breakfast: Pre-race, I had the best bread in the world (turned into toast) with honey, a banana, a hard boiled egg and half a chia squeeze. Because I didn’t know what to eat. Surprisingly this sustained me for the most part.

tumblr_mbudw2aazh1qdggaz

During the race: Nike provided several nourishment items along the way. As mentioned, nectar-0f-the-gods orange slices, Shot Bloks – which, like I said earlier, I’m 72% sure are made of equal parts melted red Gushers and cocaine – and nuun. I especially like nuun because they gave me a supercute water bottle when I bought some of their stuff. And their packaging is adorable. Then there was a chocolate station somewhere around mile 12 and I’m pretty sure I blacked out because of it.

Post-Race: Apparently when I ate my breakfast, instead of being broken down into chyme and then fortifying my body with nutrients, the banana and chia squeeze hit the high road and underwent some kind of apparition process — they ended up in my finisher’s snack bag. Thanks Whole Foods!

Then we hit up the Tipsy Pig and this happened:

IMG_6336

don’t worry about it i just ran a half marathon

See? You get to eat whatever you want when you run. It’s the greatest thing ever.

 

OTHER TIPS AND IMPORTANT NOTES

De-stressing: this was of particular importance to me, as I had what most psychiatrists would diagnose as ‘an almost-panic attack.’ Usually, when I’m calm/sane, I can fall asleep – anywhere, anytime. There could be jackhammering outside my bedroom window during a category 5 earthquake with the sun blazing into my face… and I would be relatively comatose.

This was unfortunately not the case leading up to my first half marathon. I was so keyed up, I couldn’t even nap.

tumblr_inline_n5dnqfe9Jd1rpigee

And since I knew I needed sleep, I knew I needed a sleep aid. Because Ketamine was not on hand at the local Safeway, I opted for a combination of over-the-counter coma-inducers.

Neuro Sleep + Bedtime Tea + Melatonin tablets = NIGHT NIGHT BAI.

#drugz

IMG_6283

I was less stressed about the actual race… I figured my body would just do as it wanted and i somehow would appear at the finish line. What I was stressing about was this:

IMG_6289

a blurry, chaotic picture of the madness before the start

What if I lose cell service? Will we find parking? Am I going to be late? What happens when I’m late? Do I miss the start? Will I find my friends? What if I lose my friends and I can’t find my mom at the finish line? How will I get home? Did I eat the right things? Where is my corral?

There are so. many. women. EVERYONE LOOKS THE SAME!

0NysV2K

ANYWAY.

What also helped me de-stress was a good list of bitchin tunes…

Music: Although I considered just having Shake it Off on repeat (nothing new on race day, you know), I decided to mix it up and created a fun little playlist on Spotify. Katy Perry’s eye of the tiger song gets you freaking AMPED. Also threw in some mellow Tycho and Odesza tunes to keep me feeling mellow.

 

GENERAL FEELINGS

The first few miles were about getting in a good rhythm, but by the time we were at mile three, I was FLYING.

dog-running

*begin internal dialogue*

Start line: omg it’s cold AF. good thing I brought a sweatshirt

Mile 1: GET THIS THING OFF OF ME I AM A THOUSAND DEGREES RIGHT NOW

Mile 3:  this is the best day of my life. i’ve never felt better. why have i always doubted myself? why have i never run before? this is amazing. i must’ve trained really well. i probably look so awesome and athletic and skinny. wow. i’ve never felt more beautiful.

baywatch-run-o

vision of myself running

Mile 4: this still feels awesome. i bet i could do a whole marathon. i wonder what my time is. how am i only running a 12-minute mile?! wtf?! this thing is lying. this is bullcrap.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-14560-1388417433-17

what i actually look like

 

Mile 5: EVERYTHING IS AWESOMEEEE. Wait. those kids have orange slices. Lemme get dat. Omg. wait. THESE ARE AMAZING!!!  These kids are so awesome! I love them!

giphy

Mile 6-8: Similar sentiments. Feeling great. Golden Gate Park is BEAUTIFUL!

Mile 7.5: MOM! MOM I SEE YOU! YES! I’M SO HAPPY!

Mile 8: Maybe we should walk mile 8. Yeah? then we’ll feel great.

Mile 9: Maybe we should also walk mile 9. Just the hill part. How long is this hill?

walking-the-cat

Mile 10: WHY DID WE SIGN UP FOR THIS?! WHAT IS THIS HILL?! WHEN DOES IT END? Okay we’re almost at the top. i can’t see because of the fog. omg still not at the top. when does it end. I CAN’T DO THIS.

Wednesday

Top of Mile 10 hill: That hill was my bitch. Ain’t no thang.

Mile 11: I think the rest of this is down hill. I’m pretty sure. there better not be any tricks. my feet and willpower are not prepared for any of that.

Mile 12: CHOCOLATE R U SRS. YES. *suddenly rejuvenated*…. I can’t believe I haven’t stopped to pee. I. AM. A CHAMPION.

Mile 12.4: It will probably be too embarrassing to walk to the finish line (deja vu)… better start jogging again.

Mile 12.5: … is that the finish line?!

amazing

Mile 13:

540361723979261436_1357674871

The finish line:

Jennifer-Lawrence

20s6gra

tumblr_mnzkyucG471sqn45bo1_500

specifically the middle one

the-fresh-prince-of-bel-air

weekend-update

after

high-school-musical-victory

 

running-red-jumpsuit

 THE END.

 

tumblr_ndwwxhT7lm1sd8vx0o1_500

*update* I realized I am a total dickhead and forgot to thank some very important people. Mom: you’re an amazing chauffeur, even 24 years into motherhood. You haven’t lost your edge. Thanks for being a great team mom & cheerleader. Caitie & Laura: thanks for running slowly with me. Boyfriend: you’re the best, most patient and encouraging coach, dietician, personal therapist and masseur. Thank you for believing in me or for being really good at pretending to believe in me. Either way. You’re great.

3 comments on “Running Doesn’t Totally Suck, Part 2: The Sequel. *Nike Women’s Half Marathon Edition*

  1. stroids
    November 3, 2014

    I love the minions

  2. Pingback: NWHM 2015: We Run SF (Preview) | beauty & the beach

  3. Pingback: gearing up: suja san diego half marathon 2016 – beauty & the beach

Leave a Reply

