None For Gretchen Weiners

Stuff I like that you might also enjoy

Chestnuts (Drank)

THIS POST HAS BEEN UPDATED*

 

 

*read while listening to christmas carols*

A good friend of mine once said, “now open yo mind up and listen me Saint Nick.”

He was about to start talking about holiday beverages, but got sidetracked trying to make a Christmas song out of Kendrick Lamar’s “Swimming Pools (Drank).”

And we all know how that ends.

spongebob-Christmas

Anyway.

As i’ve mentioned before (many times), I love Christmas. Everything about it. The beverages of the season are a key piece in my yuletide puzzle of joy. So, in alignment with my mission statement, I will now share my favorite holiday drinks, so your days are a little merrier, a little brighter, and a lot yummier.

happy_and_excited_children_on_christmas_morning_10

alternative titles to this post included ‘how to sip your way to diabetes in the winter months.’ take that however you will.

1) CHESTNUT PRALINE LATTE: STARBUCKS

Screen Shot 2014-11-10 at 2.33.42 PM

The least-sweet option of the four drinks. Almost buttery aftertaste. Really mild, a little sweet, nutty (obviously). Thank you Starbucks for augmenting your Christmas menu. TOOK YOU LONG ENOUGH. Jk luh you.

I know there have been a handful of reviews on this already, but mine is more important so here you go: Most people are like ‘wtf is a chestnut,’ but really, it’s just a nut. Don’t think too hard about it. It tastes like a nut. If you’ve ever tasted a walnut or a brazil nut…. it’s pretty similar to that. If you haven’t, then I really don’t know what to tell you. Just like how it’s hard to explain the taste of a mushroom, or like, truffle oil for example (except for saying that truffle oil just tastes like a lot of money), it’s hard to explain the taste of chestnuts.

If you love Soft Snowfall and Pine Trees and Fireplaces and Snuggling in the Wintertime and Christmas and all things wholesome and wonderful, then you will probably enjoy The CPL.

In summary, a great coffee option that isn’t super sweet, but is 100% festive. I will follow up once I try the frappuccino version this week.

3571ae4612f940dfa3e0eea32eb752d9

*UPDATE: Okay so I tried it.

BEST. DRINK. EVER.

So the Chestnut Praline Frappuccino, or CPF, if you’re in a hurry, is heaven. on earth. in a 30% recycled plastic to-go cup. topped with whipped cream. and some kind of magic christmas spice sprinkle.

angel-frap

The spice/sprinkle topping has this Christmasy aroma to it; so my first reaction when I sipped it was… WHY DO I NOT HAVE A CHRISTMAS CANDLE IN MY OFFICE?!?! I MUST GO TO TARGET AT LUNCHTIME.

Not my normal reaction to beverages.

It’s kind of a combination of almond roca and pumpkin pie spice, if that makes sense. Like its hot cousin, the CPL (that sounded weird), it has a buttery after taste and is mildly sweet. Although decadent, it is the least sugar-high-inducing of any frap I’ve ever tasted (and I think I’ve tasted them all) and has cemented itself as my hands-down new favorite.

NOW GO GET ONE.

2) GINGERBREAD HOT COCOA: STARBUCKS

starbucks-gingerbread-latte-profile

An off-the-menu gem I invented. Seriously, I invented it. If you like the gingerbread latte, this is so much better. Also a great non-coffee option. Don’t skip on the gingerbread whipped cream.

When you drink it, you feel like this:

elf-excited-o

3) WINTER DREAM TEA LATTE: COFFEE BEAN

viewimage_story_element-php

Refer back to the original post for a full breakdown of this Christmas Miracle.

4) BUTTERBEER: YOUR KITCHEN

Delicious-Butterbeer

For those of you who rebel against mainstream coffee giants such as the aforementioned Starbs & CBTL, more power to you. More coffee for me. But here you go, a recipe for a fun holiday drink you can make at home.

This is a “me admitting nerdiness” moment: I love Harry Potter so much that I hosted a Harry Potter Halloween party with my boyfriend (I will post about it soon), which naturally included Butterbeer. It was absolutely amazing. I have no shame and no regrets about anything I just typed.

I improvised off of a few recipes I found online (there are approximately nine thousand on google), but I really followed this one in particular. Basically, it’s equal parts sweetened condensed milk & butterscotch topping, couple tablespoons of melted butter, heated up and mixed together, and then topped with warm cream soda. You can add whipped topping if you’d like to dance on the line of hyperglycemia. You can add rum if you are seeking a severe hangover the next morning. Your choice, really. Either way, it’s a unique, hot, holiday-appropriate kind of drink that gives you the warm and fuzzies. Just like this:

enhanced-buzz-32698-1354892229-1

 

A short-cut, cold version? Cream soda, imitation butter, rum or rum extract, and a dollop of whipped cream or marshmallow fluff.

Let me know how much I improved your life with these recommendations what you think, and if you have more holiday drink suggestions. What’s your favorite Christmas beverage? I’m down to try.

merry-christmas_1240

One comment on “Chestnuts (Drank)

  1. Pingback: flarez r kewl, also happy holidays | beauty & the beach

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 10, 2014 by and tagged , , , , , , , .
